Press Release: Def Leppard – Yeah!

From Def

Coming hot on the heels of their platinum-certified 2CD hits package Rock Of Ages, Def Leppard have announced that they will release their 12th studio album Yeah! on May 23.

On their highly anticipated new album, Def Leppard have created a heartfelt and hard rocking tribute to their musical heroes of the late 60’s and 70’s – The Kinks, Badfinger, T. Rex, David Bowie, Sweet, Roxy Music, Mott the Hoople, Free, Faces and Thin Lizzy. Recording essential versions of the music that influenced their youth, the band have brilliantly merged the “Now” with the “Then” to create a buzz that can only be summed up in one word: Yeah!

Said Joe Elliott, “I thought it was about time we showed the world what our true roots were… British pop rock from the early to mid 70’s. The songs on this album are at least partly responsible for us making the kind of music that we do.”

Added Phil Collen, “We didn’t want to make the standard covers album and gave this a lot of deep thought as Joe has been going on about doing this sort of project for 26 years. We wanted to express ourselves through these songs and approached the recording process as if they were our own.”

The final tracklisting for Yeah! is as follows (running order TBA):
10538 Overture – originally recorded by Electric Light Orchestra in 1972
20th Century Boy – originally recorded by T.Rex in 1973
Don’t Believe A Word – originally recorded by Thin Lizzy in 1976
Drive-In Saturday – originally recorded by David Bowie in 1973
Hanging On The Telephone – originally recorded by The Nerves in 1977, and Blondie in 1978
He’s Gonna Step On You Again – originally recorded by John Kongos in 1971
Hell Raiser – originally recorded by Sweet in 1973
Little Bit Of Love – originally recorded by Free in 1972
No Matter What – originally recorded by Badfinger in 1970
Rock On – originally recorded by David Essex in 1973
Stay With Me – originally recorded by Faces in 1971
Street Life – originally recorded by Roxy Music in 1973
The Golden Age Of Rock & Roll – originally recorded by Mott the Hoople in 1974 Waterloo Sunset – originally recorded by The Kinks in 1967.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.