Lacuna Coil – Karmacode (2006)

Lacuna Coil – Karmacode (2006)

1. Fragile
2. To The Edge
3. Our Truth
4. Within Me
5. Devoted
6. You Create
7. What I See
8. Fragments Of Faith
9. Closer
10. In Visible Light
11. The Game
12. Without Fear
13. Enjoy The Silence

Lacuna Coil official website – The Lacuna Coil Community

Lacuna Coil is one of Italy’s greatest Metal exports. Releasing 2 E.P.s and 4 full-length albums since 1998, Lacuna Coil has become the newest force in female-fronted, gothic-tinged, Heavy Metal. Comparisons to the Netherlands’
The Gathering and the U.S. Evanescence abound, Lacuna Coil has now taken control and become the band that similar ones will be compared to. Take the haunting angel-like voice of Cristina Scabbia, add the male vocals of Andrea Ferro, and throw in heavy riffs with a pounding rhythm section…..that’s the Lacuna Coil sound. It’s atmospheric, soaring, drifting, aggressive, beautiful, and catchy.

Karmacode is a progression of the Lacuna Coil “sound” with a Middle-Eastern flavor, very exotic. This is what I like from a new band, the ability to grow and expand their ideas and music. I thought 2002’s Comalies was the band’s peak as they started to crack the U.S. mainstream but this new offering has blown away all expectations. With serious promotion from Century Media, and spots on the current Rob Zombie and Ozzfest tours, Lacuna Coil is poised to dominate into the mainstream conciousness.

Standout tracks: All, it’s a damn good album. I was surprised by the band’s take on Depeche Mode’s Enjoy The Silence.

4 comments on “Lacuna Coil – Karmacode (2006)

  1. Just from the one song I heard, I like their sound, and I can see why they’ve been compared to Evanescence. If I get a chance, I might just pick up the cd.

  2. Pingback: Lacuna Coil – Shallow Life (2009) « Heavy Metal Addiction

  3. Pingback: CD Scavenger Hunt (January update) — The first hunt of 2012! « Heavy Metal Addiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.