Lana Lane – Best Of Lana Lane 1995-1999 (1999)

Lana Lane – Best Of Lana Lane 1995-1999 (1999, Avalon/Think Tank Media)

1. Symphony Of Angels
2. Love Is An Illusion
3. Escher’s Staircase
4. Seasons
5. Under The Olive Tree
6. Avalon
7. Rainbow’s End
8. Seasons End
9. Through The Fire
10. When Time Stood Still
11. Destination Roswell
12. In The Court Of The Crimson King (Live Bonus Track)

Lana Lane official website
Think Tank Media
Echoes From The Illusion – Lana Lane Authorized Fansite

Lana Lane is a strong female vocalist in the Symphonic Rock and Progressive Rock/Metal genres with an extremely beautiful voice. Her sense of melody, power, and artistic flair lets her sing everything from ballads to straight Metal. Band members include: Lana Lane, Erik Norlander, Mark McCrite, Neil Citron, Don Schiff, et al. All are extremely accomplished musicians and songwriters. I find it hard to find comparable singers or bands I would put Lana Lane in similar company with Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart and maybe Cristina Scabbia of Lacuna Coil but better.

I discovered Lana Lane through the fine writers at Brave Words and Bloody Knuckles. After reading some album reviews and some online research, I decided to take a chance on the Best Of set.

This is a basic best of collection that gives the listener a taste of the music that Lana Lane creates: Hard rockers like Symphony Of Angels, Destination Roswell, and Love Is An Illusion and soft ballads like Avalon and Seasons End. This whole collection, and the entire Lana Lane discography, is just full of beautiful music and songwriting….musicians of the highest caliber producing wonderful art.

Favorite tracks: Under The Olive Tree, Avalon, Destination Roswell
Actually, I haven’t found a Lana Lane song I don’t like through 11 albums and 2 E.P.s, even her cover songs are excellent and offer more to the listener. This band has become one of my favorite bands in a very short time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.