Lana Lane – Storybook: Tales from Europe and Japan DVD (2004)

Lana Lane – Storybook: Tales from Europe and Japan (2004)

1. Intro Medley (Japan 2002)
a. Dark Water Part III
b. Fanfare for the Dragon Isle
c. Garden Of The Moon
d. In The Hall Of The Ocean Queen
2. Escher’s Staircase (Japan 2002)
3. Rainbow’s End (Japan 1999)
4. Project Shangri-La (Germany 2003)
5. Queen Of The Ocean (Japan 2002)
6. Destination Roswell (Belgium 2003)
7. Frankenstein Unbound (Japan 2002)
8. Before You Go (Germany 2003)
9. Under The Olive Tree (Japan 1998)
10. The Beast Within You (Japan 2002)
11. Night Falls (Japan 1999)
12. Through The Rain (Germany 2003)
13. Season (Japan 1998)
14. Love Is An Illusion (Japan 1998)
15. Avalon (Germany 1997)
16. Evolution Revolution (Japan 1999)
17. Symphony Of Angels (Japan 1998)
18. Astrology Prelude (Germany 2003)
19. Redemption Part II (Germany 2003)
20. Secrets Of Astrology (Japan 2002)

Bonus Material:
In studio interviews with the musicians
Candid montage 1998-2003
Multiple playlists
5.1 surround mixes

Duration: 3 hrs & 2 mins

Lana Lane official website
Think Tank Media

Storybook is a collection of concert footage from Lana Lane’s tours of Europe and Japan since 1998. It’s a good collection of songs from different performances giving the viewer a great variety of material, an overview of Lana Lane’s music thus far. Some footage is perfect, some less then perfect. Some stages are bigger than others, some audiences are wilder than others. The performances are TOP-NOTCH! The true highlight of the DVD is the band playing the songs with absolute perfection.

The unique thing about this DVD is the multiple playlists:
– all performances
– all interviews
– single clip
– single interview
– all performances with each interview for each song

The last option is the best option and the longest. I really like hearing the musicians’ commentary on how they created the song, or how the performance was, etc. before the live footage plays. It gives a little insight into the inner workings of the band. This isn’t Gene and Paul giving us tired old KISS cliches, these are interviews with Lana Lane, Erik Norlander, Mark McCrite, Vinny Appice, and the others going in depth into the songwriting process and/or the live aspects of the show.

Well worth your $20.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.