Iron Maiden – Live After Death DVD (2008)

Iron Maiden - Live After Death (2008)

Iron Maiden – Live After Death DVD (2008, Universal)

DVD 1 – Live After Death – (90 mins)

  1. Churchill Speeh/Aces High
  2. 2 Minutes To Midnight
  3. The Trooper
  4. Revelations
  5. Flight Of Icarus
  6. Rime Of The Ancient Mariner
  7. Powerslave
  8. Number Of The Beast
  9. Hallowed Be Thy Name
  10. Iron Maiden
  11. Run To The Hills
  12. Running Free
  13. Sanctuary

DVD 2 – Documentary/Bonus Concert Footage – (231 mins)

  • History Of Iron Maiden (Pt.2) – (60 mins)
  • Behind The Iron Curtain – (57 mins)
  • Rock In Rio ’85 – (50 mins)
  • ‘Ello Texas – (15 mins)
  • Artwork/Photo Galleries & Promotional Videos (‘Aces High’ & ‘2 Minutes To Midnight’) – (49 mins)

Band Lineup:
Bruce Dickinson – Lead Vocals
Steve Harris – Bass
Adrian Smith – Guitars
Dave Murray – Guitars
Nicko McBrain – Drums

(Region 1, NTSC, Total Running Time = 5 hours & 21 minutes)

Iron Maiden official website
Iron Maiden on MySpace

In 1985, Iron Maiden was the top Heavy Metal band in the world: they had a multi-platinum album with POWERSLAVE (1984) and were touring the planet on the World Slavery Tour. MTV, Circus, Hit Parader, and local Rhode Island radio all featured Maiden regularly and band mascot, Eddie, seemed to be everywhere. The announcement of the LIVE AFTER DEATH album and home video was highly anticipated in my circle of friends because we were all still too young (12) to go to the Powerslave concert and we were all dying to see it. I remember the day my friend’s older brother brought home the vinyl gatefold album…..we listened to that album over and over while staring at the cover. Then he brought home the VHS and we wore that tape out over the course of a year. We were caught up in the Maiden hysteria and we all had Eddie’s image on our shirts and bedroom walls.

It has been about 20 years since I’ve seen the Live After Death concert and this 2 DVD set has definitely been worth the wait. The first DVD is the live show from the Long Beach Arena in California and it is just as good now as it was then. The band firing on all cylinders and running through a setlist full of Maiden classics (‘Iron Maiden’, ‘Run To The Hills’, ‘Sanctuary’, ‘The Trooper’, etc.) along with four new songs of off the POWERSLAVE album (‘Aces High’, ‘2 Minutes To Midnight’, ‘Powerslave’ and ‘Rime Of The Ancient Mariner’). Looking at the set now, it’s a greatest hits collection mostly culled from the Dickinson era. If you had the band live in your town today, this setlist would satisfy most fans. There’s also the huge Egyptian themed stage show and the mummified Eddie that appears from the back of the stage during ‘Iron Maiden’. Fireworks, flames, lights, sound and show all mixed together with Maiden’s superior brand of Metal and it’s no surprise that this was a mega-successful worldwide tour and propelled the band to super-stardom.

Iron Maiden always brings their devoted fans a little extra and this DVD is no exception. The second DVD includes The History Of Iron Maiden (Pt.2) that traces the band’s movements from the end of the Piece Of Mind tour through the release of Live After Death. Interviews with members of the band, management, and crew all provide a unique insight as to what live in the studio and on the road was like. Home movies and pictures all help provide the time capsule that was the Maiden machine from ’84 to ’86. Behind The Iron Curtain has been out of print for two decades but it is included here highlighting songs performed in Eastern Europe at the beginning of the Powerslave Tour. The landmark Rock in Rio ’85 shows the band’s concert in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (opening for Queen) that was broadcast live in South America. Surely, Maiden was at the top of their game and I’m sure the headliners, Queen, needed a career performance to top it. Just look at the sea of people in attendance, I’m amazed everytime I see a concert from Rio. There’s also a quick promotional ‘Ello Texas (15 minutes), as well as, promo clips for ‘Aces High’ and ‘2 Minutes To Midnight’. Add the photo and tour galleries and the extras added to the original concert are amazing.

Bottom Line:
I would have been happy if Iron Maiden just released the Live After Death show on DVD by itself but they released it with so many quality extras making this probably the best DVD of 2008. I know it’s only February but Iron Maiden has delivered another quality video package based on their excellent musicianship and stage show, it will be hard to beat this year. Obviously, the original concert from Long Beach is my favorite part, especially seeing ‘Powerslave’ and Bruce with the feather mask. My favorite part of the second disc is the Maiden history because it comes straight from the band and members of the extended Maiden family. It’s the DVD of the year for me, knocking it off will take a massive effort (KISS take notice!). For the normal price of $15, everyone should own this.

7 comments on “Iron Maiden – Live After Death DVD (2008)

  1. This DVD set is a boon. The new documentary is great, but the old Behind the Iron Curtain is awesome. “Feel the blues, the rock….God damn it’s good!”

  2. One of those landmark releases we all seem to agree about. I gave it a 5/5 on my site too! As good and as important now as it was back on its original VHS release.

  3. Pingback: The Top 5 Music DVDs of 2008 « Heavy Metal Addiction

  4. Pingback: Iron Maiden – Flight 666 DVD (2009) « Heavy Metal Addiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.