Press Release: Yngwie Malmsteen – Perpetual Flame new album artwork, tracklisting and release dates

From Yngwie Malmsteen:

The global rock guitar community will undoubtedly mark October 14th, 2008 on their calendars, as this is the exact date that Yngwie Malmsteen will be issuing his latest studio triumph, PERPETUAL FLAME. The album will be the first-ever Yngwie album to be released via Rising Force Records (distributed via Koch). It also marks the debut on an Yngwie album by ex-JUDAS PRIEST/ICED EARTH frontman, Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens.

12 tracks of pure six-string metallic bliss (which stretches to almost 70 minutes total), the album was produced and engineered by Yngwie himself, and mixed by Roy Z (who has previously worked with Judas Priest and Bruce Dickinson, among others). Joining Yngwie and Ripper on the album is keyboardist Derek Sherinian and drummer Patrick Johansson (Yngwie contributed bass, additional keyboards, and vocals, as well), but on tour, Michael Troy will supply keyboards, and Bjorn Englen will be laying down the bass. A supporting tour of the US and Canada is slated to run through all of October.

Single-handedly, Yngwie Malmsteen trailblazed the classical metal movement in the 1980’s. During a time when the majority of guitarists were merely copying Eddie Van Halen, Yngwie was one of the few rock guitarists to create his own instantly-identifiable playing style – which has been subsequently mimicked by countless other guitarists. Yngwie is responsible for issuing some of the metal’s all-time great guitar classics, especially such releases as 1984’s Rising Force, 1985’s Marching Out, 1992’s Fire And Ice, and most recently, 2005’s Unleash The Fury.

In addition to the arrival of Perpetual Flame in October, another career highlight is slated for that same month – Yngwie will be inducted into the Rock Walk on Monday, October 13th in Los Angeles.

Additionally a new Fender/Yngwie Malmsteen custom shop guitar will be unveiled on November 28th (with a limited run of 100 instruments) and there will be a slew of CD reissues of Yngwie classics to soon be announced.

Complete tracklisting for Perpetual Flame: ‘Death Dealer’, ‘Damnation Game’, ‘Live To Fight (Another Day)’, ‘Red Devil’, ‘Four Horsemen (Of The Apocalypse)’, ‘Priest Of The Unholy’, ‘Be Careful What You Wish For’, ‘Caprici Di Diablo’, ‘Lament’, ‘Magic City’, ‘Eleventh Hour’, ‘Heavy Heart’.

22 comments on “Press Release: Yngwie Malmsteen – Perpetual Flame new album artwork, tracklisting and release dates

  1. อัลบั้ม ใหม่ขอให้เทพสุดๆๆ นะครับ Yngwie J. Malmsteen 0831247992 Fome Thailand

  2. all these guys who have a go at malmsteen , if they can pick up a guitar and play better then i will listen to them , until then keep your boring self opinions to yourself and let the man do what he knows best PLAY EXCELLENT GUITAR

  3. Yngwie demands respect. The man has stuck to his guns and continued to make the music that he loves for all of these years. Sure, some of the recent albums aren’t as commercial as the first few, but they are damned great in their own right. The title track from “Unleash the Fury” is a freaking amazing song.

  4. Really surprised to see people are making fun of yngwie. If you are a guitarist, why should you make fun of such a guitar god whom we are all influenced of. The truth is yngwie plays his own type of music and sure some of the licks are played again and again because those falls inside his style. Every guitarist got one. All his albums have different tastes, you have to listen carefully and fuck what the internet says. Judge yourself but not by others opinions. I am really sad of some of the comments who just makes fun of this guitar God.

  5. Well, Yngwie has actually influenced the guitar world so much that every person who actually has an average amount of musical knowledge and taste, respects him for that. If all of you stupid kids who call him a wanker could play a single note like he does (in terms of vibrato and overall expression) then I would surely accept your arrogant sayings. No go and listen to whatever bullshit you are listening and leave those things to persons who can understand a few things (and no, it isn’t a coincidence that no listener or musician of classical music has ever said anything bad about him, only rock and metal wiseasses who think they can judge anybody)

  6. Yngwie is one of the all time greatest guitarist. To all jealous Yngwie-bashers: Stop calling him fat, he has never been fat, and now he´s in good condition! And if you think Yngwie is boring, take a listen to any of his albums before 2000. You don´t find anything boring there, the songs are brilliant, his solos are always different and he has nice melodies and a lot of feel in them too!

  7. It´s a matter of fact that Yngwie is one of the most respected guitarrists of the planet, by fans, and by other guitarrists! People who don´t play guitarr use to say “ohh, he is just a crappy player, bla bla”. This album will rock, I´m sure! And , I love albums like Magnum Opus, Trilogy, Fire and Ice, Alchemy, the classic one, and indeed Rising Force.. I´m not to crazy about the last 2, so this will be a great one, I know that for sure!

  8. I can’t wait to hear the new album! Although I’m not a big fan of Tim Owens, I still hope it will be good. I was a bit disapointed by ‘Unlease the Fury’, so this album must be good again! Yngwie Malmsteen is one of the best guitarists in the world!!! We love you yngwie!!!

  9. Just listen to all of his album, yngwie is a great guitarist with his own style. So ok, the first one was a revelation with many excellent instrumentals
    marching out should be remastered
    trilogy, rising force, eclipse an fire and ice show the melodic period of yngwie Magnum opus, the seventh sign, war to end.. attack and unleash the fury are more powerful Each fan havs his own preference. To me, unleash the fury is one of the best album. Many powerful songs, melodics lyrics, great rock sound, excellent instrumentals… The best of the art of yngwie.
    I love “eclipse” and all of his songs but the mastering is too weak for example
    waintin for the last one

  10. finally he’s back with new album, surely agree i think he’s need a respect lol, maybe yngwie should learns a new trick and style so he can make it, i think george bellas still great compared to him, bellas playing with styles and techniques just like petrucci maybe?? ^^

  11. The new album is GREAT. It’s rare to me to appreciate all songs on yngwie’s album but this one is really great. Production is a little bit weak

  12. I have his new album and i am hear him since i am 6 … he is a Great guitarist , unique Style … and This New Album is Great with a Bit if a New Style …

  13. I’ve been listening to Yngwie since 1983 and i was 12 years old i loved him then and i love him now so if you choose to not to respect his talent your a fool. He is one of the greats and he deserve’s the reconition we all have our own views and this is mine take care all and keep the great music coming at us Yngwie i love it and always will even if it is -80c here in the NWT of Canada that’s what keep my blood flowing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s