Press Release: Chickenfoot (featuring Sammy Hagar, Michael Anthony, Joe Satriani, Chad Smith) to release debut album on





(LOS ANGELES, CA…MARCH 26, 2009) – Four of rock music’s most successful and influential musicians are combining their talents to create the much anticipated rock group Chickenfoot.  Guitar hero Joe Satriani, Red Hot Chili Peppers’ drummer Chad Smith, former Van Halen bassist Michael Anthony and frontman Sammy Hagar’s new project has found the four working side-by-side for the last few months  recording their self-titled debut album, Chickenfoot, which will be released in June, 2009.  The band will grace the cover of an upcoming issue of Guitar World magazine on stands in April.

Long before these four rock icons came together to form Chickenfoot, they already had filled the pages of rock history with enough individual mind-blowing chapters to boggle the mind of any fan or musician alike.  Satriani had his own blazing solo career as a much respected guitar virtuoso; Chad Smith is the drummer of world renowned rock band The Red Hot Chili Peppers; and Michael Anthony and Sammy Hagar have been working together since their days as lead bassist and singer, respectively, in Van Halen.  These talented individuals were aching to work together in a band that produced rock like they never have before.

“After just a few songs, it became stunningly obvious that we shared a musical agenda and an overall agenda,” says Satriani.  “When I play with Chickenfoot, I find myself wanting to give them more all the time.  I don’t hold anything back.  I think the rest of the guys feel the same way.”

“I really wasn’t looking to have a real band,” says Hagar.  “But…the minute we started jamming it was obvious that this is something that needs to be heard.”

The news that they had pooled their inordinate talents to one collective whole quickly spread like wildfire across the internet and rock metal pages over the last year as each member slowly disclosed more and more details about the mystery project. 

The self-titled debut is an 11-track hard rock album that sets a new standard for rock music in the new millennium.  Produced by Andy Johns (Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones) and mixed by Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Metallica), the band is not lacking energy or enthusiasm in this project. 

Joe Bosso of Guitar World says, “Clearly enthusiasm is no problem in the land of Chickenfoot…the finished album is an 11-song slab of raging rock…the songs stomp and snort and do all the things that great rock songs should do.”

From the thunderous, ominous opening strains of “Avenida Revolution” (detailing the bloody drug wards in Tijuana) to the album closer, the shimmering rock ballad “Future’s in the Past,” Chickenfoot is a firebomb of a record.  The band kicks and snorts their way through a passel of take-no-prisoners rock tracks like “Soap on a Rope,” “Sexy Little Thing,” “Oh Yeah” and “My Kind of Girl” – “the kinds of songs I could never do on my own,” says Satriani, “I needed a band like this to make those songs come alive.”  The band also explores mature themes on such songs as “Runnin’ Out,” about a world stretched to the breaking point to “Learning to Fall,” perhaps the most poignant love song Hagar has ever written.


Full Chickenfoot Track Listing:

1.        Avenida Revolution

2.       Soap on a Rope

3.       Sexy Little Thing

4.       Oh Yeah

5.       Runnin’ Out

6.       Get It Up

7.       Down the Drain

8.       My Kinda Girl

9.       Learning to Fall

10    Turnin’ Left

1F    Future in the Past

For more information about Chickenfoot and the upcoming self-titled debut album Chickenfoot, please visit or MySpace at

3 comments on “Press Release: Chickenfoot (featuring Sammy Hagar, Michael Anthony, Joe Satriani, Chad Smith) to release debut album on

  1. Truley same FANTASTIC music!! Joe Satriani STILL plays some kick-a** guitar!! The CD is a MUST HAVE for any music lover!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.