Press Release: Mass – Sea Of Black (2010) artwork, tracklisting and release date announced

From Escape Music:

Release Date: April 23, 2010

1. Falling From Grace
2. All The Years Gone
3. The Right Side
4. Coming Home
5. Thru The Rain
6. All That I Needed
7. More Than A Friend
8. Justify
9. Ashes To Ashes
10. Till We Meet Again
11. Captain Jack (Instrumental)
12. Sea Of Black

The band is: Louis D’Augusta- Lead Vocals, Gene D’Itria-Guitars & Back up Vocals, Michael Palumbo – Bass & Back up Vocals, Joey “Vee” Vadala- Drums

Formed in 1980, this dedicated hard rock band from the Boston area has had numerous accomplishments. Most notably, they have sold over 100,000 albums worldwide and performed with great acts such as Hanoi Rocks, Molly Hatchet, Winger, Stryper, Cheap Trick, Girlschool, Frank Marino and Mahogany Rush, Hurricane, Grim Reaper, Steven Stills and The Ramones along with many many others.

Their first self titled EP with producer Jon Mathias was recorded at The Record Plant in New York City. The EP sold over 10,000 copies in the Boston area alone, and was enough to get record companies’ attention.

In 1985, the band was signed to RCA records and released their first major label debut, “New Birth”, produced by Tony Platt. The 45 single, “Do You Love Me”, was number one for over six weeks at many radio stations along the east coast. The video for that single was also in rotation on MTV and hit Billboard’s charts. In 1987, “Mass” was signed to Enigma records and released their third album/CD, “Take You Home”, produced by John Rollo and “Mass”. This record/CD sold tens of thousands in the United States as well as England, Japan, and other countries around the world. In 1988, “Mass” released their fourth record/CD,” “Voices in the Night”, on Enigma records. Michael Sweet of the band “Stryper” was the producer. Again, this CD sold well all over the world. Songs such as “Reach for the Sky”, “Turn it all Around”, and “Voices in the Night” were available as CD singles. Songs from this CD also appeared on various compilation CD’s. That same year, “Mass” was nominated for ‘Best Heavy Metal Act’ at the Boston Music Awards.

Mass has continually worked to improve themselves and in 2007 signed with Escape Music and the result was the highly enjoyable “Crack Of Dawn” (ESM153). This release excited old fans of the band as well as attracting many new ones. Swedish producer Martin Kronlund twiddled the knobs to make this a fine sounding CD.

It’s now 2010 and the band have been working harder than ever for the new release Sea Of Black, an album that is chock full of ripping guitars and driving rhythms. Mass have always been a tight sounding four piece that have excelled in great songwriting and blinding musicianship. Once again using Martin Kronlund at the production helm what we have here is a winning formula that can only enhance their poularity. Although essentially a hard rock band Mass know how to hit the right notes with a ballad or two and they pour on the passion with ease. Astounding music…

With thirty years experience in this competitive world of rock music Mass has come shining through

3 comments on “Press Release: Mass – Sea Of Black (2010) artwork, tracklisting and release date announced

  1. Pingback: The Rock Renaissance Is In the Metal Scene — MK Anderson

  2. Pingback: 70: Mass – New Birth — MK Anderson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.