Ebay Madness – Sgt. Roxx, W.A.S.P., JC, Pretty Wicked

It’s been awhile sonce I did a proper Ebay Madness post. Since I bought the house in late October, I haven’t had much time to do any searching on Ebay. It’s not just the money, it’s the time. At my old apartment, the computer was in the family room. At the house, it’s in the master bedroom. With two kids and a dog on the first floor, it’s hard to hide away scouring Ebay for bargains and rarities.

I’ve had a few emails asking if I was still doing Ebay Madness and I noticed Metal Mark mentioned it in a comments section. So here it is…..back by popular demand…..Ebay Madness!

WASP CDs go for $480

W.A.S.P. collection (12 CDs) ends at $480.
This is just a crazy auction. There were 45 bids ! I honestly could walk into my usual store and round these up for $8-$15 each right now. The first five are the newly reissued CDs with bonus tracks, they are fairly common. The last six are newer releases and are fairly common. The hardest one to find is STILL NOT BLACK ENOUGH and I can buy at least three copies in one trip out. If I knew I could make that kind of money, I would put a lot up a week for a month. Now that Ebay has anonymous bidding, I can’t see the IDs of the bidders. The suspicious thing is that Bidder 6 really up the ante and didn’t win. Something’s fishy!

JC - Desire for $455

JC – Desire (1990) ends at $455.
I know nothing about JC. From the auction description, and the information at Heavy Harmonies, this is a rare AOR album. This is another of those independent releases that gets much hype in collector’s circles. With 16 bids, obviously some people know about this guy.

Sgt. Roxx - Push and Squeeze ends at $415.01

Sgt. Roxx – Push and Squeeze (1990) ends at $415.01.
Another band I’ve heard of but never heard the music. Sgt. Roxx is another rarity that collector’s drool over but it’s only a 6 song CD. That barely gets by E.P. status! Another independent release that gets it’s hype from it’s limited production run. For over $400, I hope the music is top notch. More info on Sgt. Roxx can be found at Heavy Harmonies.

Edane - Jabrik (1994) for $402

Edane – Jabrik (1994) goes to the winner at $4o2.
If you like your Hard Rock from Indonesia, then you might want to check out Edane. the band is still together and releasing albums but JABRIK is out of print. I would rather take my chances emailing the band for a copy than paying $402 but some people have cash to burn. I did notice that the seller and winner are both top flight collectors so I know it was a legit auction. More info on Edane can be found at their official website or Heavy Harmonies.

Pretty Wicked sells for $199.99.

Pretty Wicked – s/t (1992) sells for $199.99.
Another independent rarity i know nothing about. Someone out there knows the band because this CD ended with “BUY IT NOW” for $199.99. More info at Heavy Harmonies.

Nasty Nasty - Get Some!!!

Nasty Nasty – Get Some!!! (1990) ends at $188.35.
Ever wonder where all these bands came from? Another band that didn’t make it releases a CD in the early ’90s and a seller in the new millenium makes a killing. If I saw this in a used bin, I’d grab it but I’d expect to pay less than five bucks. $188.35 is a little steep but very affordable compared to the W.A.S.P. auction! Head over to Heavy Harmonies again for more info.

10 comments on “Ebay Madness – Sgt. Roxx, W.A.S.P., JC, Pretty Wicked

  1. Thanks, Steve. That was a good one. I have heard of a few of these bands. I buy on ebay, but my list of what I am looking for is fairly short. It’s seems like many rarities are not that special and some may get re-released some day. So I would hesitate to spend much unless I had heard some of it. I also own a bit of vinyl so I have no problem with paying less for that format if the cd is too high.

  2. Funny Mark should mention vinyl cos my first thought on the WASP part was wouldn’t that look good if it was all the vinyl covers!

    I managed to get a vinyl copy of Still Not Black Enough a while back and I don’t think any of the releases after that got a vinyl issue. Mind you I didn’t know Still Not Black Enough had for many years!

    Nice article tho’ – UK mag Record Collector do a similar thing but of course cover all genres.

  3. Increible what a prices for just one cd. I just got this cd´s for 150 euros:
    HELIX:GET UP their new album with 6 new songs and 1 old.
    DOKKEN:LIVE 81
    WASP:DOMINATOR should be released in the usa soon to open some eyes/ears. Just great lirics and increible cool songs.
    LIZZY BORDEN:MASTER OF DISGUISE 25 anniversary set, one cd and two dvd´s, (i had the vinyl of course for many years).
    JOE LYNN TURNER:SECOND HAND LIFE, great new cd.
    INTENSE:AS OUR ARMY GROWS greattttttt
    GILLAN:MR UNIVERSE new edition with bonus track.
    BONFIRE:DOUBLE X VISION, great new live cd by the band.
    DORO;WARRIOR SOUL limited edition two cd set.
    BLUE OYSTER CULT:SECRET TREATIES with bonus tracks.
    REO SPEEDWAGON:ONLY THE STRONG SURVIVE
    UDO:WRONG SIDE OF MIDNIGHT mini cd 2007.

  4. That’s pretty amazing. I can’t imagine why anyone would put out that kind of money for a CD, especially stuff that wasn’t very important in the big picture. I can see laying out the cash for an early release from a band that either got big later or was very influential and just never had commercial success, but a lot of this stuff is just third-rate. The WASP lot was probably just two people getting into a bidding war and losing control. With ebay, if you can get two people who really want something, there’s no telling how foolish they might be.

  5. Mark – I have to agree, some of these rarities are not that great and don’t warrant the high price. There’s a reason why these bands weren’t signed to a contract and the proof sometimes is on the record. I used to be big into the collector’s market for these rarities and I’ve found that the vinyl is usually easier to come by. A better alternative sonically and financially.

  6. Rene – Great pickups there, some new albums on my list too: UDO, JLT, etc.

    Bob Vinyl – The prices get outrageous sometimes for these discs. The WASP lot was interesting because these bidders could have saved hundreds by burning a tank of gas and hitting as many record stores as possible.

  7. wow, crazy prices but as someone who buys on ebay alot I can understand why these CD`s go for stupid prices but the WASP twelve CD collection thats crazy money especially as you can still buy them in your local store for cheap.
    At the end of the day if your gonna be a collector of this stuff (the obscure stuff) then you will pay the going price no matter how dumb it may seem to the average person on the street.

  8. EDANE is one of the best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal from Indonesia and JABRIK is one of my fav, with guitar style of Eddie Van Halen and George Lynch. Must have!!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.