Quiet Riot – Down To The Bone (1995)

Quiet Riot - Down To The Bone

Quiet Riot – Down To The Bone (1995, Kamikaze)

  1. Dig
  2. Pretty Pack Of Lies
  3. All Day And All Of The Night
  4. Whatever It Takes
  5. Wings Of A Cloud
  6. Trouble Again
  7. Down To The Bone
  8. Voodoo Brew
  9. Monday Morning Breakdown
  10. Live Till It Hurts
  11. Twisted
  12. All Wound Up
  13. Hell Or High Water
  14. Wings Of A Cloud (revisited)

Band Lineup:
Kevin DuBrow – Vocals
Frankie Banali – Drums
Carlos Cavazo – Guitars
Chuck Wright – Bass

Additional Musicians:
Matt Littell – Bass (on ‘Pack Of Lies’)

Total Time – 68:45

Kevin DuBrow official website
Frankie Banali official website

Continuing in the vein of TERRIFIED, Quiet Riot comes back again with another solid Hard Rock album for the ’90s. Classic Rock flavored, blues-based, and structured party anthems. It’s not all mid-tempo this time around, there are some faster tunes here that nod to the ’80s heyday, a combination of old and new.

Two things really jump out at me when listening to this record: Just like the previous album, DuBrow sings outside of his trademark delivery, it’s more soulful and bluesy in a Glenn Hughes sort of way. Second, Carlos Cavazo puts in another superb guitar performance showing that he is under-rated and overlooked in the scene.

Some solid songs here: ‘Dig’, ‘Pretty Pack Of Lies’, ‘Trouble Again’, ‘Voodoo Brew’ (interesting keyboards here), ‘Twisted’. All are very good, straight to the point, Hard Rock. The rest of the album is as straight forward as these selections except for the obligatory cover of The Kinks’ classic, ‘All Day And All Of The Night’, which is done well but unnecessary. ‘Hell Or High Water’ has that ‘Won’t Get Fooled Again’/Pete Townshend type intro, a nod to the roots.

This was released in 1995 and I remember seeing the CD in the New Release rack at my local Circuit City for $9.99. Of course this was pre-Internet, my only news was the Rock mags and zines, I didn’t remember news of a new QR album. If you look at the cover, the band name is missing but the trademark mask is there, a casual fan might not give it a second glance. I almost missed out on this but that artwork really drew me in, one of the best I’d seen in a long time and the best the band has ever had.

Bottom Line:
Straight up Hard Rock done well. It’s the same sound that you identify as Quiet Riot but bluesy. Well worth checking out. Favorite songs: ‘Pretty Pack Of Lies’, ‘Voodoo Brew’, ‘Trouble Again’.

8 comments on “Quiet Riot – Down To The Bone (1995)

  1. What the fuck???(sorry), i didnt know about this album. How is that possible??? Fuck(sorry again), i will have to look for it and buy it right now. THANKSSSSSSSSSSS FOR THE INFO STEVE.

  2. Yes Steve, i can not believe it my self. I have hunderds of obscure heavy metal cds and lps in my collection and i didnt know about a QUIET RIOT cd ha ha ha, increible but true. Yes, i realy have to get this cd soon. THANKSSSSSSSSSSS.

  3. Another solid record… definitely the ALTERNATIVE to grunge. I’m glad QR never jumped on that bandwagon. Some standout tracks, “Dig” “Whatever it takes” “All Wound Up” “Down to the Bone” and “Trouble Again”. I love the album cover too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.